Season 22 – Best Rotations

Just a quick post looking at the best overall rotations to start season 22. This is measured by my “patented” formula for rating players. Hence why it might be skewed my way a little. Though feel free to argue with the rankings all you want.

This afternoon I grabbed all major league players through the world office, reports, player search function. I grabbed all starting pitcher, relief pitchers, catchers, infielders, outfielders, and designated hitters. I’m not sure if pitchers marked as “rest” will be included with that data dump. So if you have a pitcher marked as rest, let me know and I’ll see if he was included.

A total of 28 teams are running five man rotations right now, two are running six man, and two are running four man rotations.

The way I determined the best overall rotations was to average my ratings for the overall rotation. Just note, that if a team is running more/less than a five man rotation, the ratings could fluctuate depending on the quality of the pitcher added/subtracted.

Overall, my rankings determined that Hartford has the best overall rotation. Hartford is running a six man rotation right now. It was a close call though, as my team came in a close second.  My five pitchers had a better average rating than Hartford’s six, but if you subtract his “sixth worst” pitcher, his average pitcher edges me by .08.

Rounding out the top five were Colorado, Trenton and Little Rock.

Attached is the overall rankings.

Rotation

Note: If Trenton eventually adds a 5th pitcher, and he isn’t rated at least a 72 by my rankings, they’ll fall to 6th. My guess he is waiting for the 20th game to promote Rico Garza, who is rated 73.5 by my calculations.

Leave a Reply

